The Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award

Providing creative opportunities for women photographers

The 2019 Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award.


The 2019 Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award of £2000, facilitated by FotoDocument and supported by Nikon for the first time this year, is granted to a professional woman photographer towards the completion of a compelling and cohesive documentary photo essay which addresses an important social, environmental, economic or cultural issue, whether local or global.

Winner and Honourable Mentions announced for Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award 2019


© Mary Turner – Runner Up FotoAward 2018

The work should, in part, showcase positive solutions to any issues it raises in order to contribute to constructive photojournalism, in line with the wishes of Marilyn Stafford and the aims of FotoDocument. The Award is reserved solely for documentary photographers working on projects which are intended to make the world a better place and which may be unreported/under-reported.

Women from any stage of their careers are welcome to apply, whether emerging, mid-career or established. They must already have started the photo essay for which they are seeking funding and be able to show work in progress. In addition, they must have already completed at least one other documentary photo essay to demonstrate track record prior to applying for funding. Entrants must be over 18, they may be any nationality and based anywhere in the world. It is free to submit.

Submissions will be reviewed by panel including: Rebecca Conway – 2017 FotoAward winner, Nina Emett – Director of FotoDocument, Rebecca Newton – PR & Social Media Manager Nikon and Marilyn Stafford herself among others.

Deadline: 15 November 2019


© Özge Sebzeci 2018 winner

© Rebecca Conway 2017 winner

© Özge Sebzeci 2018 winner

© Rebecca Conway 2017 winner